An eerie start to the New Year

4 Jan

I was going to list out my plans/goals for 2010, but everything is in a state of flux at the moment. For now I have 2 runnning goals for 2010. 

The first is to increase my total mileage for the year. I really love to run, and especially love the benefits I derive from it. In 2007, I logged 700 miles, in 2008 – 766 miles, and last year I finished at 802. This year I want to up the ante and get into as great shape as I can. So last week, I signed up with Katye (Psst it’s her birthday today. Happy 21st!!) to run her  1,010 in 2010  challenge.

My second goal is to run at least 3 marathons or 50K trail runs. I tried to get my act together last year, but the timing and motivation weren’t there. So, the first opportunity is the LA Marathon  on March 21st. Hence, my blog title “Road To LA”, not Louisiana 😉

I started the new year off right with 2 runs, one good, and one just so-s0.  On Jan 1st, I had planned a 10 miler. However, life stepped in and I ended up staying up late with my wife and kids on New Year’s Eve. And I slept in – unusual for me, but oh did it ever feel great!  I’m usually up by 5:30 or 6am, and laying in bed made me lazy for the rest of the day. I did manage to get out the door by noon. But, I just couldn’t get into a rhythm. Halfway through, I caved and barely managed 6.  Not the start I was hoping for.

Yesterday, I had planned a looooong run of 17 miles. I knew I had to get up early so I could be back in time for my son’s b-ball game (they kicked butt!).   But, somehow I slept in again!! Jumping out of bed, I figured I had only 2.5 hours. It was a little cool (about 40*)  and dark. I didn’t come across any runner or cyclist for the first 8 miles. Finally, as the sky started to brighted the day, the fog settled in. I could barely see about 30-40 yards ahead. Very cool, very eerie. A great run.  I’ll have to make up the 17 miler next week.

A somewhat promising start to 2010. Happy New Year to all!!!

2 Responses to “An eerie start to the New Year”

  1. Christina 01.05.2010 at 6:57 am #

    Awesome goals to run 3 marathons. WIth training for 3 marathons, you’ll have no problem hitting the 2010 miles.

  2. RunninAround 01.05.2010 at 10:10 am #

    you are kicking butt as far as I’m concerned! Thanks so much for the birthday wishes and shoutout! It was a great day =)

Leave a Reply

