Stuff

3 Feb

  Don’t you hate it when the other blogs are discussing articles in Trail Running or Runner’s World, and your issue has arrived yet. Grrr! Almost as bad as not winning the latest giveaway!

  There are only 6 ½ weeks left till the LA Marathon. Training was going ok till last week. Then, I started getting a bit lazy. I got a decent interval in midweek (6×800), but I had to really push myself to get out the door at 5am on Friday. It was a pretty cool morning with the fog starting to form. I didn’t get into a good rhythm till the 3 mile mark. Coincidently, that was the point where I left the road and turned into the local canal trail. Something about running in the dark with just a headlamp seemed to pick me up. I got a thrill at about the 4 mile mark. Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed some yellow dots. Turning to the left, I saw 4 sets of yellowish eyes about 30 yards away. My heart skipped thinking they were wild dogs. I relaxed again when I realized it was just 4 deer. What wildlife have you encountered?

  There are 2 people, who I know, I have inspired to take up running. The first is my youngest sister, who’s about 10 years younger. She started running about 1 ½ years ago. She had always watched, over the years, as one of my older brothers and I would run in different races. She’d see how much fun we had and she wanted to experience that also. So, on a lark, while shopping for walking shoes, she signed up with a 10K running group. She stuck with it, running her first 10K shortly after. Last Oct, she ran her first half marathon. In November, when she heard I was considering LA in March, she started thinking about it also. However, she was experiencing pain in her knees and some kidney stone issues, and wasn’t sure if she was ready. I suggested she take her time, get well, build up slowly, and shoot for something down the road. Of course, she ignored my advice and promptly signed up anyway. Secretly, I don’t think she has done enough training to enjoy the experience. I’m sure she’ll finish, but how much pain will she have to endure?

  Another good friend also took up running recently. In the course of discussing different things, I would always bring up running; whether it was the excitement from running a race or finding a new trail. She had been a bad auto accident a few years ago. She took up running to strengthen her legs. When one of her friends opened up fitness studio, it led to a more directed effort to make a change in her life. She signed up with a personal trainer to help with core work, and has slowly built up her mileage. This Sunday, she is running her first half marathon in San Francisco. I’m really proud of the advances she’s made and her determination. Who have you inspired recently?

  In January, as part of the 1010 miles in 2010 challenge, I’ve run almost 129 miles. This was a big milestone for me. In the last 15 years, the most I had run in one month was 100 miles (Nov 09), but my average was more like 50 miles a month. I think committing to the challenge was a smart thing. It has kept me motivated in my training for LA. It has also given me a long-term goal which I can use to keep up my fitness throughout the year.

3 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. Christina 02.03.2010 at 4:54 pm #

    That is so great that you have inspired your sister and friend to run. It is such a great life changing event for people, not only from the physical aspect but the mental aspect. Running helps work through thoughts. I have inspired my brother to run. He runs off and on but he likes it and keeps at it while time allows. Maybe I should look for a half marathon race in Colorado where he lives and challenge him to run it with me.

    As I have become a better runner I find it takes me more miles, not less, before feeling good about a run. It takes me a minimum of 2 miles before the kinks are worked out and 6 miles on a long run before I feel really good.

    • Miguel 02.04.2010 at 12:30 pm #

      So true. It also takes me about 2 miles to find a groove. On a long run, the middle miles are the best – the most fun of any run.
      Plus, when I get too beat up from the rode, I head out to the trails to reenergize me

  2. 26point2kidrunner 04.25.2010 at 5:33 am #

    I my name is Ivan Donaher. I am 12 years old and I ran the Hyannis Marathon. I had to train for 92 days to get perfect. It is good that your daughter is trying the LA Marathon but she should really train or she is going to break down. If I were you I would not let here run it if she has knee problems and kidny stone probloms I would not let here because she can get really hurt. If you want more information about me go to my blog and reply back. GO LUCK ON THE RACE!!!!

Leave a Reply

