Work, work, push, push

4 Feb

Have you ever had one of those days were you have to really work hard to get a good run? 

I’m not talking about how it takes 1 -2 miles just to warm up, and then you finally find your rhyhm. I mean when you have to really fight to reach that higher plane. Kind of like sprinting up a muddy hill that keeps sucking you in tll you reach the dry section. Yesterday’s interval set started off like that.

I almost didn’t get out of the car when I got to the marked trail where I do intervals. My knees ached, my stomach felt bloated (yeah, guys get that way too), allergy season is fast approaching. There was also the distraction of some police action at the airport next door.

The last few weeks, I had been averaging about 4:30 on sets, but I felt I could probably go faster. I decided to shoot for somewhere between 4:05 and 4:15.
As expected, the first 2 800s were somewhat difficult. Maybe I needed a longer warm up, but I still managed to stay within target with a little work.
4:05
4:10
But then, this fatigue set in. Almost like I had attached weights to my legs.
4:17
I was wondering whether I’d even be able to complete 4 sets. Pushing all that negativity aside, I took a longer rest, refocused and put more concentration on what I was trying to do.
4:10
4:05
4:10
4:15
Whew! Guess I just needed to psyche myself out a bit. It seemed like the weight had come off in the last 4 800s. My stride was smoother, my arms were pumping evenly, my breathing more relaxed. I definitely was in a groove.  After cooling off, I felt great! There was definitely more of a spring in my step. Man, I felt fast !!

well, for me it was fast 🙂

3 Responses to “Work, work, push, push”

  1. Christina 02.05.2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Maybe Half fast?

    Well written entry…I liked this sentence “Kind of like sprinting up a muddy hill that keeps sucking you in tll you reach the dry section. ”

    I always like it when a run, which I didn’t want to do, really dreaded doing, turns out well. Every time that happens I’m always glad that I didn’t succumb to the excuses.

    Nice workout!

  2. Live, Love, Run, Pray 02.11.2010 at 3:18 pm #

    oh you have no idea. I’m already a running hippie…minus the whole drugs and dirty hair thing.

  3. X-country2 02.13.2010 at 9:23 am #

    Way to push yourself!

Leave a Reply

