Sick as a dog

17 Feb

I have been truly fortunate.

I haven’t been sick in over 3 years. No colds, flu, sore throats…nothing. Coincidently, three years ago I started upping my mileage (from 10-15 miles to 25-30 in the last 6 months.

Meanwhile, my wife, son and daughter have had various illnesses, especially in the winter months.

The streak ended yesterday

My family has been trading colds and coughs for the last 4 months. Yesterday morning, I awoke with a tickle in my throat. By 5pm, that little tickle had blossomed, making me miserable. I got home and dragged myself to bed- getting up once to eat dinner.

There’s a slight improvement today. But, I have no interest whatsoever in going out for a run. The combination of a great 22 miler last Sunday, and this throat thing (might even be allergy related) has really fatigued me.

Maybe tomorrow….maybe Friday.

Meanwhile all the ladies are taking full advantage and going right by me again at 1010-in-2010

Just wait….

Read a great review of how proper nutrition/hydration and pacing helped Christina BQ at the IMS Arizona marathon. Great stuff! Check it out.

(cough, cough, hack, hack)

One Response to “Sick as a dog”

  1. Christina 02.17.2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Hurray for getting sick now!!! I hadn’t posted about it but the week of I had a sore throat each morning. Stressing about it is an understatement. I bought Emergence C and double dosed it. I bought a Zicam Meltaway things and took those religiously. I may have had a mild case of something but never got sick.

Leave a Reply

