Almost back on track

22 Feb

Just got through a wicked cold/sore throat that took me out of commission for a week. It used to be I could recover from a cold in a couple of days, but this last one really kicked my ass.
I felt a tickle on my throat on Tuesday, tried to weakly fight it off Wed, but surrendered and submitted on Thursday. It was taking too much energy to keep fighting.

I finally emerged somewhat clear headed this morning. I haven’t been able to get a decent sleep due to all the post nasal drainage.
Tomorrow, I’m starting my last heavy week of training, culminating in a 22-24 mile long run on Sunday. Then a 3 week taper to the Mar 21st LA Marathon.
If I was clearheaded enough, I would probably freak out about the lost week.

On a side note, my sister in LA had been writing me all last week about her last long run in preparation for LA, her first marathon. First, 2 weeks ago, she told me it was a 23 miler. Then, last Wed somehow it changed to a 25 miler. Yesterday, out of the blue, she texted me. Her long run had become the Pasadena Marathon. WTF!! I still don’t know who talked her into that.  I haven’t been able to get a hold of her yet – she’s probably still icing. I wonder if she still plans on running LA? That would be 2 marathon within 30 days. Crazy kid sisters!

2 Responses to “Almost back on track”

  1. aron 02.22.2010 at 12:59 pm #

    good job taking some time off to make sure you are better!! its better to kick it now than to have it linger on to the race.

  2. Johann 02.24.2010 at 3:52 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m a stats fanatic/freak so keeping track of races and times and dates is a lifestyle for me. In South Africa 1270 races in 29 years is not that much. Some people do much more!

    On your long run…I would run this Sunday if feeling OK. Running is the best cure for blocked sinuses and noses. Two weeks before the marathon would not run more than a half marathon at very easy pace.

Leave a Reply

