Taper week # 2

11 Mar

 

Only 10 days until the LA Marathon  I’m not getting too freaked out about it yet.

Last week, I took an extra recovery day after my last long run of 24 miles. I did a short 5.5 mile easy run midweek. At Johann’s suggestion, I kept my long run to 13 miles on Sunday. Then this week, I threw in a couple of 5 mile runs.

I hate tapers. The runs seem so blah. Or perhaps, I’m just fatigued from all the long runs. Then I started to feel these aches similar to when I had a calf injury a couple of years ago. Back then, I had to take 3 weeks off to let my body repair itself. Last week, I started feeling the same twinges in my calf. Thankfully, it went away once I got going. Since then, my heels and knees have felt sore and my legs have felt stiff and heavy.  Maybe this means I really ready for LA.

Anyway, I felt I needed a change. For today’s run, after a mile warmup, I took to the trails. Sprinting up and down the dirt hills felt fabulous! This was way better than doing 800 intervals. And I felt great afterwards. I even had a spring in my step.

In a way, I’m looking forward to getting the marathon out of the way; getting away from the asphalt and cement roads, and all the traffic. I can’t wait to get back to the trails….

One Response to “Taper week # 2”

  1. Johann 03.12.2010 at 3:20 am #

    Glad to hear your taper is going well. I’m running less in mine than planned mainly because of stomach bug. I’m sure that’s a good thing in the end. I’m feeling good again today.

    10 days! Sounds like you are ready to run this weekend already if you could. Good luck with the final preparations!

Leave a Reply

