LA Marathon short recap

21 Mar

It’s all done!

I didn’t BQ – LOL !! – but I wasn’t looking to anyway. Not that big a deal.

I was hoping for a 4:40 something time, averaging an 11 min pace.

But the course turned out to be a little to warm and humid for me in the first half. I was bothered by leg cramps from about 13 miles till the end. I finished in 5:46 –  about an hour later than I was hoping. But that doesn’t bother me. I’m glad I persevered and gutted it out till the finish – with some help from my brother, who bitched at me paced for the last 6 miles. Ha ha – he was talking way too much, trying to get me not stop, but I was in such tormet from the cramps, that I finally told to just shut up. He just laughed and kept me going 😉

Now, due to other commitments, I have about a 3 week period of somewhat inactivity. More on that on a later post

Miguel

4 Responses to “LA Marathon short recap”

  1. aron 03.21.2010 at 7:51 pm #

    CONGRATS!!!! i heard it was a warm/tough day out there but way to push it through and finish strong!

  2. Long Legs on the Loose 03.22.2010 at 6:20 am #

    congrats congrats congrats! humidity kills me. seriously takes everything out of me but this is awesome congrats!

  3. Tricia 03.22.2010 at 2:49 pm #

    congrats

  4. Johann 03.23.2010 at 3:22 am #

    Well done! A marathon finish is great in any time. I also missed my 5:00 goal but I’m still happy with the finish. I’ve stopped worrying about the time I finish races in long ago and now I enjoy my runs much more.

    Enjoy the time off, you need it.

Leave a Reply

